offline Itty Bitty Modder
    Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads

New to Modding, looking for a begginers guide.

Hello everyone,

I'm new to phone modding and I really got interested in this subject while trying to repair a V3i phone. I have a background in electronics and it's what I do for a living but for the most part I don't mess around too much with software.

My problem is the microphone on this phone isn't working, I replaced the actual physical microphone using a resistor jumper for basing and an electret microphone but I got no results. Someone recommended to me flashing (restoring) the phone as this might be a glitch.

So as I said I'm new to this so I went looking for beginners guides and found this

Modding Motorola in Mac OSX. How to hack the Razr, Pebl, Slvr, and more on an Apple. - Home

I followed it all the way through except for the last part which is the actual flash. Reason being I did not find anywhere to get the .shx file mentioned. Through my searching after this I realized there's also a few more things I need to learn so I can select the proper flash file. I also ended up realizing there is now GUI software for mac so you don't have to be on terminal to do this. I tried downloading SHXflasher from the link in the sticky thread above this forum but the link is dead and I could not find it on google.

Could someone please guide me or show me a guide where I could learn what I need to flash my phone? At the moment I"m not planning on performing any modifications per se. I want to just start out by flashing the phone to a state where it's a fresh install of it's software.

I would very much appreciate this help. This looks very interesting and I'd love to learn it.

Thanks
    -CharlsCharlson

offline Super Moderator
    Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads